Zur Navigation springenZum Inhalt springenZur Fußzeile springen

Quick rundown

Our TIP: annual exhibition "Pining for The Far-Away"

Ticket shop

Museum

Porcelain for Kings and Princes

The Museum’s permanent exhibition tells the story of Meissen porcelain on the basis of some 2,000 items. It is the only museum in the world to map the entire evolution of Meissen porcelain from the earliest beginnings in 1710 to the present day. The exhibition focuses first and foremost on the factors underpinning porcelain manufacture, shaping processes and porcelain painting. The use made of Meissen porcelain at the royal courts of Europe in the 18th century is exemplified by means of magnificent table centres, intricate figurines used to decorate the dining table, and amply stocked tableware services. Scintillating highlights of any tour of the exhibition are Augustus the Strong’s porcelain zoo and a banqueting table opulently laid with the famous Swan Service fashioned for Heinrich Count von Brühl.

Middle-class clientele and technical innovations

The 19th-century focus area sets out the porcelains with which the Manufactory responded to a new category of middle-class consumers. There was now a demand for a less fussy formal idiom and for more affordable tableware. The family had supplanted the court in the celebration of dining culture. Follow the path of the famous Onion Pattern onto the dining tables of the upper middle classes. Discover how ably the Manufactory harnessed technological innovation - using it to adapt the way it modelled porcelain, develop new colours and improve firing technologies. Traditional hand-crafting never ceased to be the defining benchmark, however. Particularly outstanding items were produced for the World Fairs in the second half of the 19th century, including gigantic vase designs and opulent chandeliers for the new upper middle-class clientele.

 

From Modernist art and the GDR to the present day

The 20th century began with porcelains in the art nouveau vein, followed somewhat later by art deco items and a focus on figure modelling in the style of Classical Modernism. The years preceding the outbreak of World War Two are still considered to have been particularly fruitful for Meissen in artistic terms. They saw designs produced by in-house artists as well as models purchased from free-lance artists such as August Gaul, Paul Scheurich, Gerhard Marcks or Ernst Barlach. On show are porcelains from immediately after World War Two along with works produced in the first major artistic breakthrough in the GDR from around 1960 onwards, when the Manufactory mandated an artists’ collective to come up with new developments. Its earliest members were Ludwig Zepner, Heinz Werner, Rudi Stolle, Volkmar Bretschneider and Peter Strang. The following generation of these artists is represented with work from the final quarter of the 20th century.

Amongst the Museum’s most recent arrivals are the world’s first organ with pipes in Meissen porcelain and a bust of Nelson Mandela by the artist Tom Rucker in which Meissen porcelain is combined with titanium and black diamonds.

 

Exhibitions

Farbproben Meissen Porzellan-Museum

Exhibitions

History

Historische Aufnahme Meissen Porzellan-Museum

History

Böttger 2.0

Böttger 2.0

Museum knockouts

Orang-Utan mit Tuba von Otto Pilz

Museum knockouts

Zur Navigation springenZum Inhalt springenZur Fußzeile springen

Kurz & Schnell

Unser TIPP :  Jahresausstellung "Fernweh"

Ticketshop

Museum

Porzellan für Könige und Fürsten

Die Dauerausstellung des Museums erzählt anhand von rund 2000 Objekten die Geschichte des Meissener Porzellans. Es ist weltweit das einzige Museum, das die gesamte Entwicklung des Meissener Porzellans von den Anfängen im Jahr 1710 bis in die Gegenwart abbildet. Der erste Schwerpunkt der Ausstellung sind die Grundlagen der Porzellanherstellung, der Formgebung und der Porzellanmalerei. Die Verwendung des Meissener Porzellans an europäischen Fürstenhöfen des 18. Jahrhunderts verdeutlichen prächtige Tafelausätze, kleinteilige Figuren für die Tisch- und Tafelzier und opulent ausgestattete Tafelservice. Glanzstücke des Rundgangs sind der Porzellanzoo Augusts des Starken und eine reich gedeckte Festtafel mit dem berühmten Schwanenservice, das für Heinrich Graf von Brühl gestaltet wurde.

Bürgerliche Kundschaft und technische Neuerungen

Der Schwerpunkt 19. Jahrhundert zeigt, mit welchen Porzellanen die Manufaktur auf die neue bürgerliche Käuferschicht reagierte. Eine schlichtere Formensprache und erschwingliche Servicteile waren nun gefragt. Mittelpunkt einer Festtafel war nicht länger der Hof, sondern die Familie. Folgen Sie dem Weg des berühmten Zwiebelmusters auf den Tisch des gehobenen Bürgertums. Erleben Sie, wie die Manufaktur technologische Neuerungen zu nutzen wusste - in der Gestaltung des Porzellans, in der Entwicklung neuer Farben und in der Verbesserung der Brenntechnologien. Die traditionelle Herstellung von Hand war dabei stets eine entscheidende Grundlage. Besondere Höhepunkte bilden Objekte für die Weltausstellungen der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts, darunter gigantische Vasenentwürfe und opulente Leuchter für das neue großbürgerliche Klientel.

Von der Kunst der Moderne über die DDR bis in die heutige Zeit

Das frühe 20. Jahrhundert beginnt mit Porzellanen des Jugendstil und Art déco und hat einen Schwerpunkt in der Figurengestaltung der Klassischen Moderne. Bis heute gilt die Zeit vor dem Zweiten Weltkrieg als künstlerisch besonders fruchtbringend für Meissen. Dazu zählen Entwürfe angestellter Künstler aber auch Modellankäufe freier Künstler wie August Gaul, Paul Scheurich, Gerhard Marcks oder Ernst Barlach. Sie sehen sowohl Porzellane der unmittelbaren Nachkriegszeit, als auch die des ersten großen künstlerischen Entwicklungsschubs in der DDR ab den 1960er Jahren, als die Manufaktur ein Künstlerkollektiv mit neuen Entwicklungen betraute. Zum Künstlerkollektiv zählten zunächst Ludwig Zepner, Heinz Werner, Rudi Stolle, Volkmar Bretschneider und Peter Strang. Die Nachfolgegeneration dieser Künstler ist mit Arbeiten aus dem letzten Viertel des 20. Jahrhunderts präsent.

Zu den jüngsten Objekten im Museum zählt die weltweit erste Orgel mit Pfeifen aus Meissener Porzellan und eine Büste Nelson Mandelas des Künstlers Tom Rucker, bei der Meissener Porzellan mit Titan und schwarzen Diamanten kombiniert wird.

 

Ausstellungen

Farbproben Meissen Porzellan-Museum

Ausstellungen

Geschichte

Historische Aufnahme Meissen Porzellan-Museum

Geschichte

Böttger 2.0

Böttger 2.0

Museumskracher

Orang-Utan mit Tuba von Otto Pilz

Museumskracher

Lieblingsstücke

Schäfergruppe von Johann Joachim Kaendler im Meissen Porzellan-Museum

Lieblingsstücke

Expertenwissen

Shakespeare und Dante Porzellanfiguren aus Biskuitporzellan

Expertenwissen

Bitte haben Sie einen Moment Geduld. Sie werden in Kürze auf die Seite unseres Partners weitergeleitet.