Zur Navigation springenZum Inhalt springenZur Fußzeile springen

Quick rundown

Our TIP: annual exhibition "Pining for The Far-Away"

Ticket shop

History

Richtfest des Meissen Porzellan-Museums, historische Aufnahme

Cultural heritage of Saxon porcelain art

Plans for a porcelain museum were drafted early in the 20th century and approved by the Saxon parliament ahead of the First World War. The Museum was built in the immediate vicinity of the Porcelain Manufactory. It was inaugurated in January 1916 as a “show hall” with a representative selection of models. These were intended as museum exhibits, as a means of inspiring customers, and also as specimen items for Manufactory staff.

 

[Translate to English:] Wiedereinrichtung Museum

Turmoils of war and subsequent re-opening

The Museum’s porcelains were evacuated to Albrechtsburg Castle in 1944, amidst the turmoils of war, and the Museum was closed. The collection ultimately found its way to the former USSR in 1945, and was returned from there in 1959. The Museum reopened in 1960, when the Porcelain Manufactory celebrated its 250th anniversary, and demonstration workshops were added to the exhibition. The Porcelain Museum building still stands in its original form, a modern annexe having been added in 2005.

 

[Translate to English:] Narrenfigur von Olaf Fieber im Museum der Meissen Porzellan-Stiftung

The Museum today

The Meissen Porzellan-Stiftung GmbH company was set up in 2014 with the task of upholding the cultural heritage of porcelain production and art-handicraft in Saxony. It has been in charge of running the Porcelain Museum since 2015. A thorough-going overhaul of the permanent exhibition was followed in 2017 by a process of revamping exhibition theme areas. An interactive spatial presentation on the invention of European porcelain was added in 2019 that draws visitors into the subject-matter on a more emotional level.

Zur Navigation springenZum Inhalt springenZur Fußzeile springen

Kurz & Schnell

Unser TIPP :  Jahresausstellung "Fernweh"

Ticketshop

Geschichte

Kulturelles Erbe der sächsischen Porzellankunst

Das Porzellan-Museum wurde Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts geplant und noch vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg durch den sächsischen Landtag genehmigt. Der Bau des Museums erfolgte in direkter Nachbarschaft zur Porzellanmanufaktur. Im Januar 1916 wurde es als „Schauhalle“ mit einer repräsentativen Modellschau eröffnet. Die Sammlungsgegenstände waren für die museale Ausstellung und zur Inspiration für Kunden gedacht, aber ebenso als Musterstücke für die Manufakturmitarbeiter.

Wiedereinrichtung Museum

Kriegswirren und Wiederöffnung

Ab 1944 lagerten die Porzellane des Museums aufgrund der Kriegswirren in der Albrechtsburg, das Museum wurde geschlossen. 1945 brachte man die Porzellane schließlich in die damalige UdSSR. 1959 wurden sie von dort wieder zurückgeführt. Zum 250. Jubiläum der Porzellan-Manufaktur 1960 öffnete das Museum wieder, eine Schauwerkstatt ergänzte die Ausstellung. Das Gebäude des Porzellan-Museums besteht heute noch in seiner ursprünglichen Form, 2005 wurde es durch einen modernen Anbau erweitert.

Narrenfigur von Olaf Fieber im Museum der Meissen Porzellan-Stiftung

Das Museum heute

Die Aufgabe der 2014 gegründeten Meissen Porzellan-Stiftung GmbH ist die Bewahrung des kulturellen Erbes der sächsischen Porzellanherstellung und Porzellanhandwerkskunst. Seit 2015 betreibt die Stiftung das Porzellan-Museum. Nach grundlegender Erneuerung der Dauerausstellung folgte 2017 die Überarbeitung der thematischen Ausstellungsbereiche. Seit 2019 verstärkt eine interaktive Rauminszenierung zur Erfindung des europäischen Porzellans den emotionalen Einstieg für Besucher.